Saturday, February 8, 2014

ACE Eddie (America Cinema Editors Guild) go for Captain Phillips and American Hustle

Last evening the American Cinema Editors (ACE "Eddies") gave out their film awards to both Captain 
Phillips (drama), and American Hustle (comedy/musical).  While many will say this makes the race even more complicated, the truth in the matter is that I think this clears things up.

Here is a list of the past "Eddies" winners from 2000-2012, the * indicate winners at the Oscars
  • Best Edited Feature Film - Dramatic:
    • 2000: The Matrix* - Zach Staenberg
    • 2001: Gladiator - Pietro Scalia
    • 2002: Black Hawk Down* - Pietro Scalia
    • 2003: Gangs of New York - Thelma Schoonmaker
    • 2004: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King* - Jamie Selkirk
    • 2005: The Aviator* - Thelma Schoonmaker
    • 2006: Crash* - Hughes Winborne
    • 2007: Babel - Stephen Mirrione and Douglas Crise tied with The Departed* - Thelma Schoonmaker
    • 2008: The Bourne Ultimatum* - Christopher Rouse
    • 2009: Slumdog Millionaire* - Chris Dickens
    • 2010: The Hurt Locker* - Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
    • 2011: The Social Network* - Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall
    • 2012: The Descendants - Kevin Tent
    • 2013: Argo* - William Goldenberg
  • Best Edited Feature Film - Comedy or Musical:
    • 2000: Being John Malkovich - Eric Zumbrunnen
    • 2001: Almost Famous - Joe Hutshing and Saar Klein
    • 2002: Moulin Rouge! - Jill Bilcock
    • 2003: Chicago* - Martin Walsh
    • 2004: Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl - Craig Wood, Stephen E. Rifkin, and Arthur Schmidt
    • 2005: Ray - Paul Hirsch
    • 2006: Walk the Line - Michael McCusker
    • 2007: Dreamgirls - Virginia Katz
    • 2008: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street - Chris Lebenzon
    • 2009: WALL-E - Stephen Schaffer
    • 2010: The Hangover - Debra Neil-Fisher
    • 2011: Alice in Wonderland - Chris Lebenzon
    • 2012: The Artist - Anne-Sophie Bion and Michel Hazanavicius
    • 2013: Silver Linings Playbook - Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers

Over the last 12 years, the Oscar winner for editing has won this, mostly in drama 9 for 12, and only once for comedy/musical for, making the total 10 for 12.  Ironically one of the two years where it did not match was in 2000, the year most similar to this year where there were three Best Picture front runners.

In 2000, the Eddies went to Gladiator, and Almost Famous while the Oscar went to Traffic, which took home 3 awards that evening.  The other year there was no match was in 2011 when The Artist shockingly lost the Oscar to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  If you do not switch your editing prediction at the Oscars to Captain Phillips, I think you will regret that decision.  

A few weeks ago I shifted my prediction to Phillips, much like The Bourne Ultimatum in 2007, the film has quick cuts, and it is something many regard highly, this is also a way to honor the film, which is well liked and scored 6 nominations.  Gravity could spoil, but this Captain Phillips win here actually helps aid in my personal predictions.

No comments: