Thursday, April 30, 2015

2015 Daytime Emmy Ceremony Better but room for Growth Pop Network

I did not get to watch the Daytime Emmy Awards, for the first time in many years, and it felt weird.  I have not watched Soap Operas or “Daytime Dramas” in many years, but I still keep up, and like to tune in to watch, and hell I love an award show.

Last year the Daytime Emmy Awards were streaming online, but this year they ended up on Pop Network, which is the old TV Guide Channel, you remember the network that used to just tell you what was on within a small window of time, or the guide function on your remote control.  I did not get to watch the show because Pop is not something my cable provider gives me, like many.  I am glad the show was televised, but Pop refused to stream the show this year, which isolated many loyal viewers and award show fans.  Many were outraged on twitter, and here is Pop Network’s sorry response, “follow us on twitter.”  Sorry Pop, the point of an award show is to watch it, not to follow your comments, and tweets from your host from Tyra Banks.  See the comments below:

I have had to search, to find clips from winners, and it looked like Pop and the Daytime Emmy Awards put on a solid show.  It was tough to find  solid clips, I still have not been able to find Jill Farren Phelps accepting the prize when The Young and the Restless won Drama Series.  The clip I found of Chad Duell winning Supporting had no sound, which is a bummer because its his first win.  I will also gripe that there should not be a tie in Best Drama, when there are only four shows on air, and all competing, but I am happy Days of Our Lives was one of the two shows that won.

Other big moments, Anthony Geary won his 8th Emmy, the most in Daytime history for playing Luke Spencer.  Amelia Heinle became the third women to win two Supporting Actress Emmy Awards; she won for her role as Victoria Newman etc., on The Young and the Restless.  It also looked like all the nominees showed up this year, which was nice; the majority of the winners were not there to accept the prize last year.

You will never please every fan with a telecast for an award show, but at least have the decency for fans who do not have Pop and who can’t watch the show across the Globe.  Daytime Dramas are succeeding in large part to foreign markets, shouldn’t the Academy recognize this?  You have to find a middle ground, so the fans have their moment, my suggestion is that they offer a streaming option next year, it will help a great deal.

See the full list of winners from the telecast:
Outstanding Drama Series: Days of Our Lives and The Young and the Restless (TIE)
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Anthony Geary, General Hospital
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Maura West, General Hospital
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Chad Duell, General Hospital
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Amelia Heinle, The Young and the Restless
Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series: Freddie Smith, Days of Our Lives
Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series: Hunter King, The Young and the Restless
Outstanding Special Guest Performer in a Drama Series: Donna Mills, General Hospital; Fred Willard, The Bold and the Beautiful; Ray Wise, The Young and the Restless
Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team: The Bold and the Beautiful
Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team: The Bold and the Beautiful
Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show: The Ellen DeGeneres Show
Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host: Kelly Ripa and Michael Strahan, Live! With Kelly & Michael
Outstanding Informative Talk Show: Steve Harvey
Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host: Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Clinton Kelly, Daphne Oz and Michael Symon, The Chew
Outstanding Entertainment News Program: Entertainment Tonight
Outstanding Culinary Program: Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics
Outstanding Game Show: Jeopardy!
Outstanding Game Show Host: Craig Ferguson, Celebrity Name Game
Outstanding Morning Program: CBS Sunday Morning
Outstanding Morning Program in Spanish: Un Nuevo Día
Lifetime Achievement Award: Betty White 

No comments: