Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Gentleman's Guide to Murder and Hedwig and the Angry Inch Lead the 2014 Tony Nominations

I have been away from the theatre scene for a while, in fact the last show I saw was the revival of Follies, I just have not made it to New York as often as I would like.  The show I want to see most from this season is the second most nominated show of the year, Hedwig and the Angry Inch with 8 nominations.  I love the film, and am excited for NPH to hopefully win a Tony.

Without being to invested in the season I noticed a few things, about the musical and play categories.  Aladdin is the only movie turned musical (in the Best Musical category( to be nominated in the musical category.  Rocky, Bullets Over Broadway, Big Fish, The Bridges of Madison County were all snubbed here. Speaking of Big Fish, it and earlier musicals like Date Night were missing in action, for the most part, which usually happens.  Cabaret was snubbed in the revival, and they went with only three nominated shows, the show also only managed two nominations.

In the Best Play category there were five nominees, instead of the typical nominations, which means there was probably a tie.  The other thing I noticed from mainly this category, but also the musical category, is that celebrities making the leap to the main stage were once again ignored.  I mean big named film celebrities like James Franco, Denzel Washington, Daniel Radcliffe, Michelle Williams, Patrick Stewart, and Ian McKellan.

The big players in Broadway did manage to end up back in different categories, two time Tony winner Sutton Foster, five time Tony winner Audra McDonald, two time winner Cherry Jones, and Idina Menzel who has one win.

Here is a full list of nominees below, I think this will be a fun year.

Best Musical
"After Midnight"
"Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
"A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder"
Best Musical Revival 
"Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
"Les Misérables"
Best Actor (Musical)
Neil Patrick Harris, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Ramin Karimloo, "Les Misérables"
Andy Karl, "Rocky"
Jefferson Mays, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Bryce Pinkham, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Best Actress (Musical)
Mary Bridget Davies, "A Night with Janis Joplin"
Sutton Foster, Violet"
Idina Menzel, "If/Then"
Jessie Mueller, "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
Kelli O'Hara, "The Bridges of Madison County"
Best Featured Actor (Musical)
Danny Burstein, "Cabaret"
Nick Cordero, "Bullets Over Broadway"
Joshua Henry, "Violet"
James Monroe Iglehart, "Aladdin"
Jarrod Spector, "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
Best Featured Actress (Musical)
Linda Emond, "Cabaret"
Lena Hall, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Anika Larsen, "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
Adriane Lenox, "After Midnight"
Lauren Worsham, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Best Book of a Musical
"Aladdin," Chad Beguelin
"Beautiful," Douglas McGrath
"Bullets Over Broadway," Woody Allen
"A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," Robert L. Freedman
Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre
Music: Alan Menken
Lyrics: Howard Ashman, Tim Rice and Chad Beguelin

"The Bridges of Madison County"
Music & Lyrics: Jason Robert Brown

"A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Music: Steven Lutvak
Lyrics: Robert L. Freedman & Steven Lutvak

Music: Tom Kitt
Lyrics: Brian Yorkey 
Best Director (Musical)
Warren Carlyle, "After Midnight"
Michael Mayer, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Leigh Silverman, "Violet"
Darko Tresnjak, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Best Choreography
Warren Carlyle, "After Midnight"
Steven Hoggett and Kelly Devine, "Rocky"
Casey Nicholaw, "Aladdin"
Susan Stroman, "Bullets Over Broadway"
Best Costume Design (Musical)
Linda Cho, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murderv
William Ivey Long, "Bullets Over Broadway"
Arianne Phillips, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Isabel Toledo, "After Midnight"
Best Lighting Design (Musical)
Kevin Adams, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Christopher Akerlind, "Rocky"
Howell Binkley, "After Midnight"
Donald Holder, "The Bridges of Madison County"
Best Scenic Design (Musical)
Christopher Barreca, "Rocky"
Julian Crouch, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Alexander Dodge, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Santo Loquasto, "Bullets Over Broadway"
Best Sound Design (Musical)
Peter Hylenski, "After Midnight"
Tim O'Heir, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch"
Mick Potter, "Les Misérables"
Brian Ronan, "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
Best Orchestrations
Doug Besterman, "Bullets Over Broadway"
Jason Robert Brown, "The Bridges of Madison County"
Steve Sidwell, "Beautiful: The Carole King Musical"
Jonathan Tunick, "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder"
Best Play
"Act One"
"All the Way"
"Casa Valentina"
"Mothers and Sons"
"Outside Mullingar"
Best Play Revival 
"The Cripple of Inishmaan"
"The Glass Menagerie"
"A Raisin in the Sun"
"Twelfth Night"
Best Actor (Play)
Samuel Barnett, "Twelfth Night"
Bryan Cranston, "All The Way"
Chris O'Dowd, "Of Mice and Men"
Mark Rylance, "Richard III"
Tony Shalhoub, "Act One"
Best Actress (Play)
Tyne Daly, "Mothers and Sons"
LaTanya Richardson Jackson, A Raisin in the Sun"
Cherry Jones, "The Glass Menagerie"
Audra McDonald, "Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill"
Estelle Parsons, "The Velocity of Autumn"
Best Featured Actor (Play)
Reed Birney, "Casa Valentina"
Paul Chahidi, "Twelfth Night"
Stephen Fry, "Twelfth Night"
Mark Rylance, "Twelfth Night"
Brian J. Smith, "The Glass Menagerie"
Best Featured Actress (Play)
Sarah Greene, "The Cripple of Inishmaan"
Celia Keenan-Bolger, "The Glass Menagerie"
Sophie Okonedo, "A Raisin in the Sun"
Anika Noni Rose, "A Raisin in the Sun"
Mare Winningham, "Casa Valentina"
Best Director (Play)
Tim Carroll, "Twelfth Night"
Michael Grandage, "The Cripple of Inishmaan"
Kenny Leon, "A Raisin in the Sun"
John Tiffany, "The Glass Menagerie"
Best Costume Design (Play)
Jane Greenwood, "Act One"
Michael Krass, "Machinal"
Rita Ryack, "Casa Valentina"
Jenny Tiramani, "Twelfth Night"
Best Lighting Design (Play)
Paule Constable, "The Cripple of Inishmaan"
Jane Cox, "Machinal"
Natasha Katz, "The Glass Menagerie"
Japhy Weideman, "Of Mice and Men"
Best Scenic Design (Play)
Beowulf Boritt, "Act One"
Bob Crowley, "The Glass Menagerie"
Es Devlin, "Machinal"
Christopher Oram, "The Cripple of Inishmaan"
Best Sound Design (Play)
Alex Baranowski, "The Cripple of Inishmaan"
Steve Canyon Kennedy, "Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill"
Dan Moses Schreier, "Act One"
Matt Tierney, "Machinal"

1 comment:

Blogger said...

YoBit lets you to claim FREE COINS from over 100 different crypto-currencies, you complete a captcha one time and claim as much as coins you want from the available offers.

After you make about 20-30 claims, you complete the captcha and resume claiming.

You can press claim as much as 30 times per one captcha.

The coins will safe in your account, and you can exchange them to Bitcoins or Dollars.